Arnold Schwarzenegger’s Mr. Olympia years: Revisiting the bodybuilding legend’s wins & career

Arnold Schwarzenegger today holds an important place in the history of not only bodybuilding, but Mr. Olympia.

Schwarzenegger has held the record for most Mr. Olympia titles for over a decade and became the most famous bodybuilder in the world during his incredible success in the 1970s. But some of his successes haven’t come without controversy.

Details: Date, time and live stream to watch Mr. Olympia 2022

Ahead of the 2022 Mr. Olympia contest, Sporting News takes a closer look at Arnold Schwarzenegger’s Mr. Olympia career.

How many times did Arnold Schwarzenegger beat Mr. Olympia?

Schwarzenegger is the most famous bodybuilder and one of the most successful in Mr. Olympia’s history.

Schwarzenegger won seven Mr. Olympia contests, including six consecutive titles from 1970-1975. He closed his record after his retirement by winning a controversial seventh Mr. Olympia in 1980.

Schwarzenegger’s record was set by Lee Haney in 1990 and broken the following year. Ronnie Coleman later surpassed Schwarzenegger’s mark and tied with Haney, while Phil Heath tied Schwarzenegger for his seventh title in 2017.

Schwarzenegger is now known worldwide for his acting career, which later turned to a political career as Governor of California, but he also has a body as a sponsor of the annual Arnold Sports Festival and eponymous person. I am involved in building.

more: Mr. Olympia Winners of the Year – Arnold Schwarzenegger, Ronnie Coleman Top Most Winning Bodybuilders

Has Arnold Schwarzenegger ever lost Mr. Olympia?

Schwarzenegger has only lost one Mr. Olympia competition, and it was his first. Three-time champion Sergio Oliva defeated Schwarzenegger and others in his 1969, when Schwarzenegger was 22 years old.

Schwarzenegger won six straight from 1970, and after retiring in 1980 won Mr. Olympia for the seventh time.

Read more: Mr. Olympia’s prize money breakdown: How much will the winner earn in 2022?

Arnold Schwarzenegger Mr. Olympia Era

Schwarzenegger was 22 when he won his first Mr. Olympia title in 1970. After winning his sixth straight Mr. Olympia in 1975, he retired at the age of 27, but returned at the age of 32 and won Mr. Olympia again. In 1980, after a last-minute decision.

Schwarzenegger’s victory in 1980 sparked controversy as many competitors believed he had lost muscle mass and was undeserving of the title. One competitor, Mike Mentsler, actually retired from competitive bodybuilding altogether because he felt cheated out of his win.

Arnold Schwarzenegger vs. Lou Ferrigno

Schwarzenegger and Lou Ferrigno had a rivalry long before their acting careers took off, but the rivalry was skewed in the Mr. Olympia contest.

Ferrigno, who trained with Schwarzenegger at the beginning of his bodybuilding career, won Mr. Universe in 1973.

Ferrigno tried to knock off the older Schwarzenegger again in 1975, but it didn’t work. His attempts, which had some credibility considering he was bigger than Schwarzenegger, were famously documented in the 1977 documentary Pumping Iron.

MORE: Full Mr. Olympia Results 2021

Ferrigno ultimately never won the Mr. Olympia contest.

Arnold Schwarzenegger Mr. Olympia Results by year

Schwarzenegger’s non-first place finish was his first Mr. Olympia competition.

When Schwarzenegger returned to the Mr. Olympia stage in 1980, the prize money for the winner was 25 times what it was for his first win. Of course, the increase is due to his success drawing attention to competition.

Year end Prize money
1969 2nd place none
1970 First place $1,000
1971 First place $1,000
1972 First place $2,000
1973 First place $750
1974 First place $1,000
1975 First place $2,500
1980 First place $25,0000

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *